Damage to third party car while working.

14 posts in this topic

So today i have caused minor damage to a colleagues car while working a fork lift. Usually there would be no problem and insurance would cover the damage but i was asked to drive a forklift

even tho i have no license for one. I have of course informed my company on this fact and they said it was no problem and since we are short handed someone needs to fill in. I was hesitant but i agreed (i understand that i should have said no).

But my problem now is they are talking about me covering the damage for the accident that happened on the company grounds, with the company equipment, after i was asked to do the job and they being informed several times i had no license. 

Who is responsible for covering the damage and do i have any legal recourse to refuse to pay?

I am not a lawyer so I can not tell you who is liable to pay. However I can tell you that you shouldn't drive anything you don't have a license for just because they ask. It's not even enough to have a forklift license, you also need the company to issue you a Fahrauftrag which is basically something saying that you are assigned to drive a forklift at this company. Without these two things I don't think the insurance of the employer would cover you.

2 hours ago, Anto P said:

i was asked to do the job and they being informed several times i had no license.

Looks to me like they were at fault.

59 minutes ago, fraufruit said:

Looks to me like they were at fault.

Well if you equate this to a car... Your employer asks you multiple times to drive the company car and you tell them you don't have a license. Eventually you drive it, even if it's just in the parking lot and you cause an accident, isn't it your fault for driving without a license? Could you expect the employers insurance to cover you?