Critical reflection needed! Study abroad over, reality settling in

9 posts in this topic

I'm at a bit of a crossroads here, and really looking for some critical feedback. I'm an American with a B.Arch. (Architecture) degree from the US, who, due to wanderlust, decided to do grad school in Germany, and just this year I graduated with a M.Sc (again Architecture). I'm currently working full time at an office, and also applying for a new position (thought a change of city might do me good after two years studying here) but I'm receiving offers of €2700-€2900 Brutto monthly.
According to other forums this is about expected for a fresh grad in my profession (Architecture), but it pales in comparison to my expected salary stateside, even ignoring tax differences. AND it basically works from the assumption that my experience in the US counts for nothing, that I'm starting over with my German M.Sc. as a fresh grad. At age 28.
Basically I'm wondering what makes more sense. An overwhelming reason to stay here was to make some use of my recently attained German degree (and not give the impression of me running back, tail between my legs), as well as travel more around the EU, cultural exchange, blabla.
However, realistically speaking, returning to the US makes more sense. Ultimately I want to settle down there (can't imagine ever becoming comfortable speaking German, although I'm currently...proficient), my family and friends are overwhelmingly in the US, and want to pursue my career and get licensed there. And due to the contrasting professional standards (i.e. CAD software, building codes) every month I'm working in DE I'm learning the wrong stuff.