Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Question about Gesetzliche Krankenkasse and Brexit

5 posts in this topic

Dear All,

I moved to Berlin in 2007 and within a couple of months was insured with Techniker Krankenkasse (TK) on a voluntary basis as I was a freelancer. In September 2018 (after some delay so I could get an increased UK State Pension) I completed form S1 and although TK are still my first point of contact, the S1 means that effectively the British National Health Service pays the bills. TK gave me a new card which (with a No-Deal Brexit in sight) was to expire in March this year.

I wrote to TK assuming that No-Deal would happen, and asked them to recommence billing me at the end of March (bear in mind that from 2007 to Sep 2018 I had been their customer). No response. I went to their office in Berlin Rankestrasse and was asked to fill in a form as I was now effectively a new customer. They then told me that because of the political situation, I would be insured on the basis of the S1 until April and gave me a certificate to that effect, and after the political shenanigins they then gave me a new card valid (on the basis of S1) until 31st October this year.

I now have a letter from them stating that in view of the political situation they will look at the situation again "at the end of the year".

Question: can they refuse me membership after 31st October? Worth mentioning that I am now a pensioner (UK State Pension plus a small Final Salary Pension from a previous UK employment).

The other thing perhaps worth mentioning is that after a surprisingly civilised, even friendly reception at the Ausländerbehöre on 4th June I know have an unlimited Aufenthaltstitel (pretty and multi-coloured) in my UK passport!