KLM checkedin suitcase missing and later destroyed by airline due to "perishable" content

55 posts in this topic

I flew through Amsterdam to Munich on Sunday 26.05.2019 with 2 check-in luggage. When i got to the Munich airport, 1 of my check-in luggage was missing. I then reported to the airport authorities and they said they will trace my luggage and revert.

2 days afterwards, i got a call that the suitcase has been spotted in Amsterdam and it will be delivered to me. Unfortunately, a wrong suitcase was delivered even though my suitcase had all necessary tags and details which i provided when lodging the complain.

Few days later, i called again only for them to tell me that the suitcase has been destroyed because it contained perishable items.

Do they have any rights to destroy my luggage? What are my options? Any support or information will be appreciated.

I am not a lawyer but... customs do indeed have very extensive rights. It would most likely be a futile and pointless exercise trying to fight their decision to destroy your luggage. As it no longer exists I wonder how you would prove the value of its contents and thus demand compensation. If you have a receipt for the actual suitcase itself and a photo of same and it was worth much you could try writing to them directly for the value of the suitcase without its contents. I take it the suitcase was uninsured?

Do you have travel insurance? Normally covers baggage as well.  If you do,call them up and tell them what happened.

Though I would imagine insurance companies would exclude compensation if you inadvisdly had something so obnoxious and rotting in your suitcase that the airline decided to have it destroyed.  As asked previously, what was in the suitcase that was perishable?

Edit: Ribs? :wacko: 

Edit:  Please not bushmeat from Ghana