Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Diesel Euro 4 across German cities?

10 posts in this topic

Hello folks! I was asked by my father who lives abroad but often travels across Europe by car to explain if you can drive Diesel Euro 4 in German cities. Since I'm a total noob when it comes to cars and don't drive myself, I would like to ask you for the latest information. 

Is Diesel Euro 4 banned in entire cities, or is it only particular zones/streets? Does it apply to most major cities in Germany? Are there fines if you drive it?

My father is thinking of selling his car because he thinks it'll be really problematic to use it in many European cities in the near future. Any opinions? Thanks!

Consult the following site for precise information (not just for Germany):

http://urbanaccessregulations.eu/

I would first check, how high the fines are.

In Germany it is definitely cheaper to pay the fines than buying a new car.

No risk no fun. (Says somebody who's car once had a red sticker. I removed it. Looks much better now.)

What he should avoid is parking on the streets. He should use parking garages.

thinking about it

I think my mothers car does not have a Euro class sticker in her car - because its in England !

I guess, not many countries in the EU - require you to have a sticker, so if your father drive from ausland to Germany - how are the police goes to know the 'class' of the car to give it a fine or not ?

5 hours ago, AnswerToLife42 said:

I would first check, how high the fines are.

Not having the sticker costs 80€ in Berlin (the woman at the Zulassungsstelle told me this when she asked if I wanted to buy one). However, I'm not sure if that is just the cost of not having a sticker or it is the fine for driving in the Innenstadt with a car that does not meet the requirements.

2 hours ago, engelchen said: