What is wohnbescheinigung and do I need it?

9 posts in this topic

We are looking for an apartment to rent in Bochum, so I contacted a rental company to see some of their apartments. But, the person on the told me to obtain "wohnbescheinigung" otherwise they would show us no apartment! 

I googled the term, and I think it is a type of certificate showing you are a low-income person residing in Germany (or something like that).

However, at the moment I'm a doctoral student having stipend and also wissenschaftlicher contract, and later on, I will be employed as a wissenschaftlicher mitarbeiter. Also, currently I have a study residence permit (if it is important).

So, do I need this certificate? because a few years ago when I checked the conditions regarding any social benefit or the Kita costs I didn't belong to the low-come category!

32 minutes ago, bobMorane said:

So, do I need this certificate?

If you want that apartment: yes, looks like you do. Otherwise you don't. The question is if you qualify for it.

because a few years ago when I checked the conditions regarding any social benefit or the Kita costs I didn't belong to the low-come category!

Check again? The amount is currently 19.350 Euro per year for a household with 1 adult. You may be able to deduct some things (some taxes, pension and health insurance payments). It's not about what you do, it's about how much money you earn.

9 minutes ago, sneaker said:

The amount is currently 19.350 Euro per year for a household with 1 adult. 

Where can I check the thresholds? any website? For instance, what about two adults and a child?!

44 minutes ago, bobMorane said:

Where can I check the thresholds? any website? For instance, what about two adults and a child?!

That info is on https://www.muelheim-ruhr.de/cms/uebersicht_ueber_einkommensgrenzen_und_bruttoeinkommen_in_nrw1.html, for example.