Advice on moving (back) to Germany from Singapore

6 posts in this topic

Hi Friends,

I am in a quandary and would appreciate help from you all who have been in a similar situation or live in Germany long enough to guide me.

Before I start highlighting my dilemma, I would like to mention that I have gone through following posts but none of them apply to my case directly and hence this new post. 

I am an Indian citizen currently living in Singapore. This is my 7th year living here. I moved to Singapore in Feb 2012 when my employer decided to open a regional office here. My move to Singapore was originally planned for 2 years - mutually agreed between me and my employer which was then extended to 2 more years. At the time of the movement, I had already lived close to 7 years in Germany (Sept 2005- Feb 2012), first as a masters student at TUM where I graduated from in 2007 and worked part time then as a full time employee with a permanent contract with the employer starting in June 2008.  At the end of 2016, my employer gave me a choice to move back to Germany or continue to stay in Singapore. That time I had decided to stay in Singapore and as a result I was no longer a German employee but a local employee in the Singapore entity. However in the last couple of years, some dramatic changes have made in the company and business operations.

I am in a dilemma whether to continue living in Germany and considering to move (back) to Germany. I am seeking help to understand if I move back to Germany by end of this year or earlier (2019), how easy would it for me get permanent residency in Germany?