Freelancer pension and citizenship

13 posts in this topic

I've read a few articles on these forums but I still don't have an answer. I also realise all the rules might be changing in 2019 and that worries me even more.

I'm a non-german married to a German and moved here on a marriage Visa. I worked as a freelancer for the first year (2017) and chose not to pay into a pension. I am now employed and also freelancing so my employer is paying into the state pension for me. My question is 2 fold.

1. I intend to apply for citizenship towards the end of year 3 (as I'm married to a German and have completed all other requirements this should be fine). Obviously I only have about 8 months of payments in state pension from my current employer. As I was a freelancer before, are they going to make me retroactively pay into the pension to make sure I have a full 3yrs of payments?

2. I'm also intending on going back into full time freelance in the next few months. Am I now required to continue paying into the state pension? How will this affect my eligibility for citizenship? I don't mind either way, it will just affect my budgeting. 

Any advice would be welcome. Even the details of an advisor.

Thanks!

Nick

if you are required to show proof of adequate pension set-up when applying for permanent residence permit mainly depends on your age, AFAIK (but I am NOT a Visa-expert, I am afraid).

You can't be asked to pay backwards into the public pension because nobody can pay backward voluntarily into the public pension in Germany. Only if you were actually obligated to pay but didn't , will you be forced to pay for past periods of time (like many freelancers/self-employed in teaching positions find out to their displeasure or people with an artist or journalist occupation who actually belonged to the Künstlersozialkasse all along).