Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Schadstoffklasse & Feinstaubplakette

8 posts in this topic

Hello,

anyone know about this, more so about driving in and around Frankfurt. I have limited knowledge on this currently.

I am in market to buy a car, questions:

1/. what are minimums for driving around Frankfurt Schadstoffklasse & Feinstaubplakette? what are these exactly and which has priority?

2/. what and when will new standards be introduced, (for future proofing)

3/. if i buy a car with euro 1 Schadstoffklasse & 4 (grun) Feinstaubplakette, is that ok to drive about and if not can you pay extra to do so?

4/. is it possible to upgrade vehicle from say euro 1 to euro 4 via upgrading exhaust (or something) or is this based on leaking emissions from engine area that cannot be helped?

5/. I hear that some older cars only get authorisation to drive at certain times of the year, why is this exactly?

I would very much like to buy an "oldtimer" as they call it in Germany, a classic car, perhaps 20+ years old.

Thanks

2 hours ago, action said:

1/. what are minimums for driving around Frankfurt Schadstoffklasse & Feinstaubplakette? what are these exactly and which has priority?

Minimum is a green Feinstaubplakette.

2/. what and when will new standards be introduced, (for future proofing)

No one knows. 

3/. if i buy a car with euro 1 Schadstoffklasse & 4 (grun) Feinstaubplakette, is that ok to drive about and if not can you pay extra to do so?

Minimum is a green Feinstaubplakette – if you have one, you are allowed to drive (at least at the moment). You can not pay extra to get around a green Plakette. 

4/. is it possible to upgrade vehicle from say euro 1 to euro 4

No.

5/. I hear that some older cars only get authorisation to drive at certain times of the year, why is this exactly?

Diesel driving bans have been avoided so far, but nobody knows what the future holds.