Residence in Germany & work for a Netherlands company

7 posts in this topic

Hi All,

I did find another post on Toytown which was similar to my situation but was more related to finance. So, im hoping someone could answer my question.

I am a non-EU citizen currently living and working in Germany, i also hold a blue card. I have been working here for 2 years already now. I have an offer from a company in Netherlands, for which i can work remotely. So, i plan to stay at my current residence in Germany,  change job and work remotely. 

By the way, I was previously a student in Germany and after starting a full time job, i applied and got a blue card.

1. I was wondering if i can continue doing this with the current blue card that i hold? or will i need to apply for a new one in NL?

2. Now i can also apply for a Permanent Residence, since i am eligible for it. So, will holding a PR help me to do the above(stay here & work for a company in NL)? If not, i do not see the point in getting a PR i guess.

3. Will the time spent in Germany count, in case i move to Netherlands and i want to apply for a PR there?

4. Just for some affirmation, i guess in the above situation i will have to pay my taxes in Germany?

It depends on what is written on the Zusatzblatt (the green additional paper that one gets with an Aufenthaltstitel). Blue Cards, as far as I know, are usually tied to a particular company one is working for. That inhibits changing job as per wish and staying with the same Blue Card. Then there are cases, where one is needed to work for a minimum period of 2 years with the company the Blue Card is tied up with.

In any case, I would suggest you to inform the Ausländersbehörde when you change your job.