Getting a qualification from the UK recognised without getting a permit to work in the field

5 posts in this topic

I did a search of the forums and found many topics related to work, but none relating to my situation. 
I'm a qualified paramedic from the UK, living in Germany for about 18 months. I didn't bother to look at getting my qualification recognised here as I know that until my German is near perfect, I wouldn't feel comfortable working as a paramedic (communication is key). In fact, I'd resigned myself to the fact that I may never work as a paramedic here, as by the time I'm fluent enough, too much time may have passed since I last worked and it's a fast-moving field. 
However, I applied for work as a carer, and they told me I need to have my qualification recognised (why? I have no idea, it's a completely different job). But regardless, I looked into it, and I can only find information on how to have your qualification recognised by applying for a permit to work. One of the conditions for being issued a permit is, unsurprisingly, sufficient knowledge of the German language. Which I don't feel I have yet. 
My question is this; has anyone ever gotten a qualification recognised but without also getting a work permit? I'm hoping this is very simple to do and just isn't explained well on the website! Thank you in advance :)

It is possible to have foreign qualifications recognised even if you don't need a work permit.

Bezirksregierung Düsseldorf,

Landesprüfungsamt für Medizin,

Psychotherapie und Pharmazie

Tel.: 02 11/475-0

poststelle@brd.nrw.de

www.brd.nrw.de

http://www.brd.nrw.de/gesundheit_soziales/LPA-NAH-EU-Ausbildungen/index.jsp

Das Landesprüfungsamt ist für die Feststellung der beruflichen Gleichwertigkeit von ausländischen Qualifikationen zuständig.

BTW, how well do you already speak German?

As a carer, this is also seen as a health care related job, so no surprise they want to see your qualifications.