Open University German Language Certificate = B1 ?

6 posts in this topic

As many of you will know, application for German citizenship requires you to have at least a B1 or equivalent proficiency in German.

Before moving to Germany in 2008 I studied with the Open University and passed the  L130 (Auftakt: intermediate German) module and obtained a Certificate in German.

I contacted the OU to check if the level obtained was equivalent to B1, and they said it is and pointed me to the webpage for the course https://msds.open.ac.uk/students/study/undergraduate/course/l130.htm

The question is, will that be acceptable to a Beamtin at a provincial (Eberswalde, Brandenburg) citizenship bureau who doesn't speak English? I am thinking not, so how do I convince her that I have the required level of german proficiency already with the OU without having to sit the B1 test locally ( next available date June cost 120€ ) ?

Any ideas folks?

I think people would generally know that terms like "intermediate" and "B1" and so on are pretty synonymous and so pointing to a piece of paper telling someone an "intermediate" course was at B1 level will not usually add much.   In addition, that reference is at 2019, not a description of your 2008 course.

I would never rule it out but most people here presenting with "I once did a B1 course" get told do do an accredited proficiency assessment especially if not e.g. clearly much higher.   You can only ask but I think you might expect to be very persuasive to even have a shot.   This sort of course in a foreign language is not usually seen as the same as an assessed proficiency test in a second language for integration.  Have you got anything higher, obviously more persuasive?   Have you got any specific B1 certificates for the element(s) one must specifically pass at B1 as well as an overall grade (speaking I think it might be now, it was writing when I did it). 

A fallback could be to do the test not locally.