Did B2 for citizenship - worth doing C1 or C2 now?

9 posts in this topic

Hi there beautiful and intelligent TTers.

I got my German telc B2 certificate last year for the good old naturalization process.

Now I'm wondering about doing C2 just to keep my fluent but rusting German from rusting any further, and in case it's handy for work / qualifications later.

Anyone round these parts done that? Does anyone care if I can prove I am fluent in German to C2 level? Ever been asked for that in order to get a job?

How about C1? Worth bothering or just jump straight to C2? I studied at a German uni so I think I can handle the study now the pressure is off (got my DE PP).

Yes by all means do C1 and then C2. I am doing C1 now and love it beacuse it challenges me to keep mastering the German language and not become too comfortable. I enjoy the challenge and the socialization with other professional adults. Here in Germany where paper is everything you never know who will ask you to prove a very high German language competency e.g universities ask for C1 usually.

I found the gap from B2 to C1 far less difficult than from B1 to B2, where I found the relentless vocabularly broadening (lots of seemingly random words you just had to get used to) harder.   I am generally in favour of getting a qualification if you are at the level and its fairly accessible.  I rarely needed to prove it professionally but, when I do, bang, there it is.   It is the other way for me, international jobs where German is an additional language skill.   I did that recently albeit I turned down the op (one I discussed here last weekend).    

5 minutes ago, sos-the-rope said:

@NativeFraulein@swimmer any recommended flavour of certificate? I couldn't see a telc study book for C1 and C2 on Amazon, only Goethe and DSH.

Maybe the higher certs are not so popular?