Permanent residence application in risk due to BVG fines

10 posts in this topic

Hello all, I am a German University graduate who is about to be under a work visa for 2 years. According to what I have read online, by the time my 2 years under a work visa are achieved, I would be then eligible to apply for a permanent residence permit "Niederlassungserlaubnis". I would technically be able to apply for this this year but recently I have read that fines can jeopardise the granting of this permit. I have done some more research but with mixed answers I have read that even a BVG fine could be a reason :( I have been fined twice. I would like to know if this is true and if already my chances for getting the permit residence permit are gone.

Twice should be OK as long as you paid your fines.   BVG starts actions normally from the 3rd fine, and normally when they happened often and the person refuses to pay the fines.

5 minutes ago, Krieg said:

Twice should be OK as long as you paid your fines.   BVG starts actions normally from the 3rd fine, and normally when they happened often and the person refuses to pay the fines.

Yes I have paid my fines in less than the 14 requested days. Thanks for your answer, this gives me piece of mind :D

I hope that piece of mind is big enough so that you remember to buy tickets.

Then you'll have permanent peace of mind 😉 

3 minutes ago, cyborg said:

what does bvg mean ?

It is the company in charge of some of the public transportation in Berlin.  So the OP received fines for fare dodging in the U-Bahn/Tram/Bus.

On 11/02/2019, 21:38:11, El Jeffo said:

I hope that piece of mind is big enough so that you remember to buy tickets.

Then you'll have permanent peace of mind 😉