New to forum and Germany looking for help.

3 posts in this topic

Hello All.

After a decade living in rural France as a self employed builder renovating old properties, I now find myself, for various reasons, living and working in Germany. I'm a plasterer by trade. But have been involved in every aspect of the building game over the last ten years. Anyway. The reason im posting is because im looking for any help with understanding the German way of doing things, particularly when it comes to plastering and rendering. I'm working with a gipster crew at the moment. But due to my lack of German and their lack of english im not really able to ask them why they do things the way they do. And because i want to get back to self employment as soon as possible, the sooner i increase my knowledge of how things work in Germany, the better. So, if there is anyone who can help me, maybe someone in the trade or a DIYer with experience. Or if there is someone nearby (i'm in between Karlsruhe and Rastatt) with a project going on that i could come and look at and pick their brains. Any help would be much appreciated and repaid as best i can. Plus it might be a good way of meeting new people. 

Thanks

I was in a similar situation when I first came to Germany, albeit in a different trade.  My best advice is keep working for others, at least until your German is up to speed.  There were are a lot of differences between what I was used to in Canada versus how things are done here, and my experience working for others was invaluable.  I know, it's annoying working for others and you just want to get out there, but patience is the name of the game.  I first felt ready to go self-employed after four years working for others here.  Looking back, I probably could have done it sooner, but not that much sooner.