Employment law regarding salary secrecy - I am being threaten with termination

10 posts in this topic

Hello,

First of all, I live in Hesse. I don't know how the laws change from state to state. But I will put that here.

I have always been upfront with how much I earnt with other people, I have told them when asked. I saw another co-workers' slip when we had lunch, and he saw mine. There was a pay difference. Not only was he getting more for a job that I do, but I also have additional jobs that are technical skills and require qualifications. I work as a web developer, but I was contracted as a warehouse worker (i was fat and took the job to lose weight, but they looked at my CV and asked if I could build an online shop) - the job has since migrated to me managing and running the website, photography and artwork, and marketing, with warehouse work in addition. The contract only states warehouse and media work, with the initial design of the site.

When my contract renewal came about, I asked for a raise, as I am poorly paid. They said no, but I got to keep the job. Later that day. I had to take the boss on a trip, and he urged me to look for another job (constantly repeating  "as a friend" about 8 times "look for another job, my advice as a friend" in a maybe hour long trip). I said I would look in time, as my current situation doesn't allow me to just go look for a job (lack of German and pending divorce, being the main factors). Monday rolls around, and my boss had sent a message to the company saying I quit. At this point I had not given my formal resignation, nor was the matter discussed outside of the context of "as a friend" while we were on the trip.

I have had issues with the job here, for almost 2 years. Harassment has come out of it. Everything from blind rage, to accusations of stealing money to tax fraud (all of which were nothing to do with me)