Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Starting afresh in Berliner Umland

7 posts in this topic

My wife and kids are moving back to be near her parents in the MOL area of Brandenburg.  We’ve yoyoed between the UK and DE already before, I’m from the UK and met my wife in the early 2000’s in the UK.  We moved to DE in 2007 and returned to UK in 2012 - whilst in DE before I worked in IT in Berlin in an English work environment.  I’d say my German is reasonable for day-to-day but not business or social settings capable.   The decision to move again after 6 years in the UK has been driven by my wife and has largely been as a result of some relationship issues, and for my wife, a desire to be back close to her family.  I’m planning on staying in the UK to sort out house stuff etc. but am now really struggling with the thought of following them back to DE and living my time out there.  The relationship issues compound things obviously, as do my kids, and I do question would whether I’d be so troubled over moving if things were rosier.

What I’m asking about here then is what prospects do I have outside of my family life to make a go of it in DE?

I am frustrated at my German language skills – I’d want to do some quality language training. My German is better than I probably believe but I’m hard on myself there and find it a big confidence issue.  I have a reasonable social life here, and the thoughts of even getting to grips with that in a German environment fill me with dread as I’m not a naturally outgoing person anyway, and to try that in German...

Employment – I have a job I really enjoy here in the UK that uses my skills well – and it’s not in IT.  What prospects are there for me to get a job in DE?  I seriously don’t want to go back to IT and the thought of an hour’s commute into Berlin is not my cup of tea in the slightest. Plus, I’m getting on – mid-40’s so I guess I may not be the best prospect for some? That’s before I start to worry about any Brexit effect.