Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Applying for a Masters in Germany

5 posts in this topic

Hi all! I had a question that I wanted to ask about applying for a Masters in Germany (specifically a Masters in Computer Science).

I am a Australian-Czech citizen with a double Bachelors in Economics-Computer Science from an Australian university, with

Honours in Economics. In Australia Honours is a separate degree from the main degree. Accordingly, there is no requirement

to complete an Honours degree to graduate. I was eligible to apply for Honours in Computer Science but I could not identify a

Professor who was suitable to supervise my project so I stuck to Honours in Economics.

Now I have been working for a few years and I have begun to enjoy programming more, and am particularly interested in blockchain

technology. I am coming to work in Zurich and I would like to work on a Masters part time while I am here, either in Switzerland or

on the German border. However, I do not know whether I would be eligible to be admitted to one of these courses without an Honours degree

in computer science (despite the fact that Germany and Switzerland are Bologna systems rather than the 3+1 system found in Australia).

Does anyone have any experience in this regard? Thank you.

All foreign credentials will -- in cases of doubt -- be sent to the Zentralstelle für ausländisches Bildungswesen in Bonn (you can look up Anabin yourself: https://anabin.kmk.org/anabin.html), where the German bureaucratic fairies will work their magic in determining how your qualifications stack up.