Living in Singen/Konstanz and working in Winterthur

10 posts in this topic

Hello everyone.

Currenly I live in Munich. The life here is expensive and it's impossible to find a 3 rooms flat for a normal price, since I am planning to move my familly here (we are 3 people in total). I am a web developer and from what I can see, my current salary is 52K which is again, low for Munich. I have experience of 5 years and planning either to change a job or a country. When my wife will move here, she need to learn German and gain some education to be able to work, and we have a kid. That means I will be the only one who will work for a several years...

What I have in mind now, to move to Konstanz or Singen and find a job in Switzerland to work there. For instance - Winterthur. I can have a car so its not a problem if I drive 60 km every day in one way. 

The reason of it - higher salaries in Switzerland and we perhaps can buy a small house in Germany. Something like that. 

Is here someone who have a good experience in a similar situation? Who works in Switzerland and lives in Germany? Is it worth it? 

Thank you in advance!

as per my knowledge: Let me clear some issues regarding this topic:

1. you have to pay 4.7% (approximately) Tax to Switzerland (it is automatically deducts from your salary).
2. you have to pay 13% (approximately) Tax to Germany (Quarterly, you pay to nearest finanzamt in Germany).-IF YOU LIVE IN GERMANY
3. You have to pay Health insurance for yourselves in Swiss (it is not like as in Germany) and it is around 250€ to 300€ (cheapone).
4. You have to take Health insurance for your wife in Germany and it costs around 180€.

at the end I can say it will be the same if you live in germany or in Switzerland.

Do you really think it will be the same?

I think it could be better, even if you pay all the taxes and health insurances.