Fine for wrong ticket

23 posts in this topic

I moved to a new place for an internship and was told by a colleague that i just need to get the student ticket from the machine and show my student card and it will be enough. but i realised after getting checked that i was having a wrong ticket and that i was supposed to apply for a special customer ticket if i am a student on internship. although the price is the same and i explained to the inspector that i honestly did not know this procedure and was told by my colleague that it was sufficient to have this ticket, I was still fined 60 euros. now since i am in the state temporarily, i gave the guy my temporary address but it is not registered so there is no way any notice or bill will reach me. however he issued me a fine receipt with my full name and date of birth. so my question now is, will it be possible for me to ignore this fine? will there be any record where they can track me down to penalise further or block me at the airport? as honestly i did the right thing to buy the monthly ticket but it was just the wrong type and the fare is the same anyways. i don't think the office will accept my reason for sincerely not knowing about applying for the special pass and i would still need to pay the fine so i am just wondering if i can skip this because i paid the correct price just for the wrong ticket type :( . thanks.

no i didn't. i just responded to it but did not ask what i should do in my case. 

17 minutes ago, msnys said:

now since i am in the state temporarily, i gave the guy my temporary address but it is not registered so there is no way any notice or bill will reach me. however he issued me a fine receipt with my full name and date of birth. so my question now is, will it be possible for me to ignore this fine?