Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Transport in neunburg vorm wald

8 posts in this topic

Hi, greetings everyone

I am new in TT, this is my first post. Soon I will be moving to neunburg vorm wald, I found a job there, however, I haven't found accommodation there but in stamsried. I really don't speak German, only English, I have been looking into public transport schedules using google translator, I would have to be in neunburg each day (weekdays) before 8 am, there is a bud route that suits me but it doesn't work in August, the remaining options would make me arrived past 9 am. So as my first question here in TT, is there a way to commute from stamsried (or nearby cities such as Rötz, Roding, etc.) to neunburg by bus every day? maybe not all bus schedules are published on the internet and I am over worrying? would it be possible to use a bike or is this against the law (using a bike on a road)?

Thank you so much for your answers. 

it's legal to bike on most roads (obviously not on multi-lane roads, though)

you can plot major routes using google maps if you pick the "bike" mode of transport, and using the satellite view you can also spot some smaller roads/trails that could offer some really lovely rides.

can you ask your boss or a coworker for local advice?

Hi Lisa13,

Thank you for your answer. the first two weeks I will be lodged in a hotel in neunburg to have a "smooth" start, I am saving some questions for that moment (just basic aspects of living, for example, how to do the laundry, I have found through the forum in TT that plenty of people use hotel services at first, as there are no laundromats  or at least where I will live), although I know that most of them commute to work in their own cars. 

If I choose to buy a bike, what kind would be the best option? would I need a helmet or other accessories (to comply with traffic laws)?