Got stuck with two Student public health insurances in Germany

22 posts in this topic

Hello Everyone!

I am a Student enrolled in a Master degree program in Berlin, my enrollment was super complicated due to the fact that i was abroad (not in germany) and as you may know, the enrollment procedure (Einschreibung) is very time-limited, so in order to complete it, i needed a proof of registration in a public health insurance (Krankenversicherungsnachweis) to send (in time) to the correspondent university.

Firstly i applied at DAK, and as they took so much time (asking for an Immatrikulationsbescheinigung which you'll only get once you're enrolled! :wacko:) i switched sides to raise my chances of getting a proof in time and contacted TK, they served me well and sent the paper by email in just two days which helped me enroll just in time, but then again, i forgot about the DAK completely thinking that in order for the contract to be completed, my university needed to send them a confirmation paper called (Meldung der Hochschule an die AOK), plus me having to send them the Enrollment proof (Immatrikulationsbescheinigung) which they asked for, so they can verify that i am actually an enrolled Student but apparently all they cared about is finalizing the contract and taking my money.

Today i just realized that AOK has debited me 94.24€ and will probably keep doing every single month if i don't do something about it!:(

I am asking if this situation can be solved by informing AOK that i am already insured by TK or am i gonna be stuck with two insurers for the rest of my studies!

ps:  i haven't even began my studies anyway but i am enrolled for this semester + still abroad.

Any advice at this point is very much appreciated!

Danke im Voraus!

Hello Endstation! Normally, it´s the first contract that is concluded/finalised which counts.So you need to send  WRITTEN proof to  TK you are already insured elsewhere. And ask for your money back.