Landlord not accepting apartment cancellation registered post

35 posts in this topic

Hello all,

Hope you are doing great on the other side of the screen.

I am having a weird experience now.

I have my apartment contract ending June 2018 with one month notice period. I have already dropped a mail(1st May 2018) as well a contract termination letter to landlord registered post. But the post isn't receipt by him. 

Below is the status as of now of the post:

Status of the shipment Further processing steps
XXXXXXXX The recipient has been notified. The consignment is ready to be picked up at the responsible branch of Deutsche Post (XXX).

I tried calling him but he is not accepting my calls and looks like am also blocked on whatsapp.

What should be the next course of action from my end? This is my first time in Germany and this experience is really getting into my nerves. Am I done from my end or should I send another letter if he doesnt collect the post from branch office?

Another point to add here is, there was a bit of cut on the couch and I told him the same and he asked me the cost of the same would be 600 Euros, insisted on replacing the couch and when I asked him for the bill receipt he said he don't have one. What should I do now?

Since then he isn't responding to my calls.

Looking forward to some support to tackle up this.

best regards,

newTraveller.

Join the Mietverein. Have them contact him, as soon as he sees a letter from them you'll get a reply. If you join now they won't represent you legally in current legal matters (existing problems) but they might give you advice and write a letter on your behalf.

best way to send mail to a landlord is via einschreiben EINWURF - in this case they just deliver the letter as usual, without a signature, but verify (with tracking data) when exactly it was delivered.  This means you can prove the letter entered his "sphere of influence" and the rest is his problem (ie if he loses it or whatever).