Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

I got offered a job i really want in Berlin, but it's weirdly underpaid

11 posts in this topic

Good morning everyone, 

first post here, i subscribed because i got offered a job in Berlin and was looking for clarifications on a few aspects, so i found out this site which seems very populated and up to date with a lot of infos.

First of all then, forgive me if this is the wrong section, and feel free to move the topic in the right place!

in short, i live and work in Italy, and last week i got offered an internship in videogame localization at a studio located in Berlin thanks to a friend.

It's a job that features elements i studied for in college, and is a field i have interests in.

I am now going through the screening process and most definitely will get the job, but there are a couple of things i need some help figuring out:

1. The pay is suspiciously low: the internship is 6 months long, is full time 40 hours a week, and the wage is 500€ a month. Isn't this extremely low for Germany standards? I looked online and i seem to meet all the requirement for the german Minimum Wage Act, so i don't get why is it so low. I've already asked this officd HR office for more details, waiting for their reply. In any case, is there anything i can do? Would bargaining for a higher salary work in the context of internships? Is that a thing in Germany or will they simply deny my request?

2. After the 6 months: since i don't have much knowledge of Berlin's job world, how are the chances of being hired after an internships? Is it common? Is it uncommon? 

Thanks in advance for all your replies!

Internships are often very low paid and you have to remember that this is not a full job nor a promise of one.

This site:  https://www.glassdoor.de/Geh%C3%A4lter/berlin-intern-gehalt-SRCH_IL.0,6_IM1020_KO7,13.htm?countryRedirect=true

Shows the current level of internships in Berlin.

So 500 Euros is on the low side, but it is not the lowest.