Tips for me, a young Canadian, to better feel at home in Germany

13 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

This is my first post here but I have visited this site many times.

I just moved here from Canada not too long ago and I'm having a hard time adjusting to the new lifestyle as it's my first time on my own and away from family. I'm looking for some tips on the following:

-finding a job with A 2.1 proficiency 

-best city for young adults

Also if any of you are in the 20-25 year old range I'm open to hearing you experiences since moving here, how was it, how long did it take you to adjust, etc. ?

A little background on me, I studied at Goethe Institue for several months but it was only two lessons a week, which is why I'm only at 2.1. I'll be attending more school here because I plan to attend Uni next year. It's hard for me to find a job with my very basic knowledge but I think it's necessary as it would help me learn faster. I've noticed most jobs require at least a bachelors or higher education but I just graduated High School and I didn't attend Uni in my home country.

So my question is what type of jobs would be suitable and what are good areas for young adults ? I currently live in a very small town so I'm looking to move because it's almost impossible to find anything here!

Sorry for the long post but I'm just looking for people who may have been in the same or a similar situation and would love to hear any tips or advice.

Thanks!

Try reading more threads on Toytown.  Many will address these things.  Presumably you have some work authorization, insurance, and all legalities are in place. If not, again existing Toytown threads likely have the answers.

26 minutes ago, schon said: