Teacher thinks my child should repeat grade 2.

46 posts in this topic

Hi!

Last week, we were informed by the teacher (half term assessment) that she feels it would be best if my son repeated Grade 2. Her words are that he is smart but needs more time to catch up with his fellow classmates because of his german speaking skills. He has only been speaking the language for 2 years but has come on leaps and bounds and she says she is impressed with how far he has come in a short time. He can read and speak quite well but struggles in explaining a context or a book he has read. 

I guess my issue is that I feel as if this has already been decided without him even getting a chance to try a little harder (we’ve got another half term left!) I’m new to this type of teaching but she doesn’t want to pressure him and feels it’s best if we don’t. She didn’t explain where he is and where he needs to be in this grade to get through the next. We were thinking of getting a tutor to see if he can pull through but I’m really confused as to what to do. My instinct tells me she’s being overly careful and I want to say giving up on him but that sounds too harsh. Is this normal? 

I do want to make the best decision for my child so if keeping him in Grade 2 is the best then so be it but shouldn’t they try to encourage my child and push him a little? I’d appreciate any advice or experience in this department. 

Thanks!

- Naomi

An observation: it's relatively common for kids to repeat a grade in German primary schools and there's not a huge stigma attached to it here as is the case in some other cultures.