Salary Expectation

102 posts in this topic

Hi there,

I know that this topic has been addressed MANY times, but still, it is varies a lot from one case to another. However, tomorrow I have a job interview at Intel, and they are going to ask me about my salary expectation, so I NEED to answer this question correctly and carefully, and for that I would ask your help. 

Here is some info which might help:

- I have a PhD degree in Mechatronics Engineering (freshly finished).

- I am 29 years old.

- I have a wife (housewife) and a 1.5 years old child.

- Currently we live in Bremen.

- The job offer is in the research and development area at Intel company in Munich.

Should I ask for something more than 50.000 euro? or 60.000 euro? or even more?!

Thanks in advance :)

2 minutes ago, SpiderPig said:

Where is the job location?

Oh sorry, I forgot to mention that it is in Munich. I already edited my original post above.

3 minutes ago, LukeSkywalker said:

Do you have any relevant work experience?

not really, I've just finished my PhD, but it is related to the job.

Even 60k is not that much in Munich. But if there is a path forward then 60k might be a good starting point.

Please remember to post your payslip here later on as proof.

Cheers

If you have an interview then you have at least some of the skills they are looking for. And even though skills are not synonymous with experience, they are both valued. Bit of confidence (within reason) goes a long way.

They will rarely give you more than you ask for, so ask for what you think phds in mechatronics earn in one of Germany most expensive cities.

It would not be out of range to ask for 60k if you have a Phd from a German university. (If you do then they know what your are making - TVL E13) and will offer you slightly more than that). German Phds think quite highly of themselves and ask exorbitant sums.

(Of course if you really want to be at Intel, dream job or whatever, then be flexible).