Residency after Divorce from Non-EU Spouse?

19 posts in this topic

I know that this forum is not a substitute for a lawyer, but I was just wondering:

I am a US citizen married to another US citizen who is working in Germany on a Blue Card. Through him I have an Aufenthaltstitel. We've been living in Germany for three years now, but separated for nearly two.

I would finally like to get divorced, however I am not sure about whether I qualify for a Niederlassungserlaubnis, since my husband is a non-EU citizen, and I am a low-earning freelancer. (I do make enough money to live frugally in Berlin, however I'm not sure that it will convince the authorities...).

Is it possible to get a Niederlassungserlaubnis independent of my spouse, simply by virtue of living here on an Aufenthaltstitel for three years? If so, do I need to do it before or after getting a divorce?

Does anyone have any insight? I have looked online but have not found any information relevant to my particular case. And it seems the next available appointment in the Ausländerbehörde is nearly one year from now...

Thank you!

6 minutes ago, eliotstreet said:

Is it possible to get a Niederlassungserlaubnis independent of my spouse, simply by virtue of living here on an Aufenthaltstitel for three years? If so, do I need to do it before or after getting a divorce?

No, it is a minimum of 5 years for an NE in your situation.

Therefore, I don't see that there is any reason for you to postpone the divorce. Especially since applying for an extension of your permit as a dependent after you've already been separated is a criminal offence.

BTW, you can also apply for Trennungsunterhalt from your husband.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice.

On 25/01/2018, 14:58:51, engelchen said: