Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Tax Deduction for Laptop as Freelance with Kleine Unternehmen (Nebenaktivität)

7 posts in this topic

I made my research here and in the rest of web but I have still some doubts.

I am a permanent employee. My employer provide me a Laptop for work, and just for work. I don't use that laptop at home for private reason. I use just in case I do homeoffice for my employer or emergency activities ( I work in IT).

I am also registered as Freiberufler and I am (and I plan to stay according to my planned incomes) in the Kleine Unternhemen case. By the way my employeer know and authorized this Nebenaktivität.

As Freelance I work still as IT Developer/Consultant and I am using my private laptop.

I need to buy now a new laptop and I am thinking to put this as an expenses for my freelance activtiy in the tax declaration. Basically my freelance activity is eating ALL my free time. This means also that each time I turn on my personal laptop it's (sadly) 90% of time for working as freelance. The remaining 10% is just to see occasionaly movie or play some videogame (actually I don't play since months :wacko: ).

So I would like to declare the truth and putting just 90% of the laptop value as an expense for my Freelance activity, and not 100% of value. Is this possible and legal ?

Also, I read about a yearly limit that force you to spread the cost among 3 years. On a website I read this limit is about 960euro but here I read that it is 480 euro (about). What is this limit ?

41 minutes ago, Frantic said:

So I would like to declare the truth and putting just 90% of the laptop value as an expense for my Freelance activity, and not 100% of value. Is this possible and legal ?

Yes.

41 minutes ago, Frantic said:

On a website I read this limit is about 960euro but here I read that it is 480 euro (about). What is this limit ?

For items bought up to 31.12.2017, the limit is 410€ + VAT, i.e. 487.90€.