Taxation of US funds

19 posts in this topic

My mom is holding a US fund the proceeds of whch are subject to withholding tax. According to her bank this withholding tax can´t be offset against her German income tax so that it is taxed twice. This is what the bank wrote when I challenged their tax handlinhg:

Auf den Ertragsabrechnungen der WKN 889209 sehen Sie den bereits ermäßigten Quellensteuerabzug von 15 %. Da es sich bei Ihrem Papier um einen Fonds handelt, ist eine Anrechnung auf die deutsche Abgeltungssteuer nicht möglich. Diese findet nur bei US-Dividendenzahlungen statt.

I´m struggling to believe that they are correct. Are they? Would it make sense to file Anlage KAP to have the withholding tax offset against her German tax and get a refund?

AFAIK this info was correct for the time period until Dec. 31st 2017. As per January 2018 this has changed dramatically because now foreign investmend funds are going to be taxed just like German funds.

Cheerio

I am a professional independent insurance broker, financial adviser, and authorised advertiser. Contact me.

3 hours ago, Starshollow said:

AFAIK this info was correct for the time period until Dec. 31st 2017. As per January 2018 this has changed dramatically because now foreign investmend funds are going to be taxed just like German funds.

Cheerio

I am a professional independent insurance broker, financial adviser, and authorised advertiser. Contact me.

But how can they be treated the same if only foreign funds are subject to withholding tax which could be offset while there is no such thing for German ones?

They are wrong, you claim for the 15% US Quellensteuer on the dividends contained in the Fond in the 2017 Anlage KAP in lines 15 (ausländische Kapitalerträge) and 52 (anrechenbare, noch nicht angerechnete ausländische Steuer).

Please read: