How long can I be written off sick to prevent further miscarriages?

5 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I had already 3 miscarriages and I think in the next pregnancy my doctor would like me to stay at home. 2 miscarriages happened in the 11 week (the doctor couldn’t find the Pulse anymore and I had surgeries). The 3rd one happened naturally. I guess next pregnancy, the doctor will ask me to take “bed rest”. My questions -

1. How long can I take it? If the doctor wants me to stay at home 5 months, can I stay that long?

2. Is it unpaid or 65% of the salary? 

3. What are my benefits in that case? 

Thanks!

My deepest condolences for your losses.  If your doctor writes you off for 5 months, then yes - you can get off work for that amount of time.   I'm not an expert, so please check this with your employer's personnel office and/or your health insurer (public insurance websites offer info about "Krankengeld"; you can call them, too - if you're gesetzlich versichert, that is).  But here's what I know from my own experience a few years ago. I was written off by my doctor for 3 months, which eventually was extended to 6 months.  For the first 6 weeks I was written off of work by my doctor, my employer paid my full salary.  (My employer also required that I get a second opinion from the Betriebsarzt to confirm the diagnosis and claim that I shouldn't/couldn't work)  After the first 6 weeks, my employer stopped paying.  From that point on, my (gesetzliche) Krankenversicherung issued Krankengeld, which I think was even more than 65% of my salary - I think the exact % depends on whether you have dependents, etc. - but that's also something to ask your insurer about. There seem to be a lot of online "Krankengeld-Rechner" around, so you could use one of those to estimate what you'd get.  Note that this set-up of full salary for the first 6 weeks of disability/illness plus Krankengeld afterward only works out that way if it's the same diagnosis of disability/illness all the way