Blue Card with foreign degree - Is approval from Bundesagentur für Arbeit required?

16 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone,

I have a job offer from a German company and intend to apply for a Blue Card. My profession is one of the "shortage" professions (IT) and my salary will be > 50,800 €. My degree is from a foreign (but recognised) university.

My question is: Will I need approval from the Bundesagentur für Arbeit? The prerequisites listed on the this page are unclear:

https://service.berlin.de/dienstleistung/324659/en/

It's the clause starting with "However" in the "Approval of the German Federal Employment Agency" section that confuses the issue. Is this an exception to the previous clause? I.e., is this stating that approval from Bundesagentur für Arbeit is always required if one holds a foreign degree?

Has anyone personally experienced this situation? I'd appreciate your feedback.

Cheers

9 hours ago, MrMiles said:

It's the clause starting with "However" in the "Approval of the German Federal Employment Agency" section that confuses the issue. Is this an exception to the previous clause? I.e., is this stating that approval from Bundesagentur für Arbeit is always required if one holds a foreign degree?

By German logic, these requirements are laid out quite clearly. In the first case, one holds a German degree; in the second case, a non-German one. The law distinguishes between these two circumstances.

According to the wording in the German version:

Eine Zustimmung der Bundesagentur für Arbeit ist hingegen erforderlich bei

• Beschäftigung in einem Mangelberuf
  • und Besitz eines ausländischen Hochschulabschlusses.

approval is required (always is implied as there's nothing to contradict this) with a foreign degree.

Keep in mind that the German versions of rules and regulations are the binding ones.

Thank you @techgirl, that was my reading as well... But, I now have received this response directly from the Ausländerbehörde which contradicts this: