Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Brand new apartment - heating not working.

26 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

I got a brand new apartment in a brand new building (it is recently built, so there has been no one living there before me). The hausmeister told me during moving in that the apartment doesn't have radiators, and that the heating is under the floor. It's been 4 days since moving in and the heating is not working. My room temperature is constantly 15 degrees. 

I called the hausmiester and he came with some mechanics and tried to fix the problem by removing air in the pipes. But some time ago he told me on text message that he couldn't fix the heating except in the bathroom, and he doesn't know when he can fix the rest. 

I'm new in Berlin and I'd like to know what I should do - what are the legalities here? Should I keep things documented? The mechanics keep saying 'this is strange we don't understand why it's not working'. Meanwhile, my apartment is cold as fuck and i have to use a portable room heater which is probably driving up my electricity bill. 

Anyone got any advice? 

are you renting?  if so, contact the landlord asap, of course as they are ultimately responsible for defects

In theory you can (and even should if this continues long at all) reduce your rent payment as compensation and to offset your electric bill, but you'd best get the advice of the mieterverein to find out how much you can safely claim.  

anyway the main power of the rent reduction is to light a fire under the landlord's ass.  But you should always contact the landlord directly and immediately to notify them of any system problem (heat/water/electricity/etc)

39 minutes ago, astuteperceptions said:

Anyone got any advice? 

If it is a new built the building company should guarantee all repairs for at least 3 years maybe longer.

Speak to the landlord who should put pressure on the building company to get it fixed asap.

It is in his and your best interest.