Driving license type BE requirements and procedures

12 posts in this topic

Hi there,

I live in Bremen, and I have a German driving license (Type B) since more than 2 years. I am considering now getting the BE one, i.e. to ba able to drive a car with a trailer behind. My questions are:

1- Do I need to do any theoretical or practical tests?

2- How many training hours does an absolute beginner normally need?

3- what is the average cost of the whole process?

Many thanks!

1 hour ago, Sir Percy B said:

What on earth do you want to tow?

In simple terms;

With your current category 'B' you are entitled to tow a trailer upto 750kg.

With category 'BE' this will allow you to tow a trailer over 750kg and upto 3500kg

See here for a full explanation or here for the English version

@Sir Percz B. What on earth could one possibly tow to his car!! not a building of course bro. However, the first link was helpful, thanks!  

I did this about this time last year.  In answer to your questions:

1:  Yes, there is a practical driving test, no theoretical test.

2:  6 hours minimum, it is up to the instructor to decide whether you need more.

3:  it cost me about 900 Euros in total, there are permits from the city required, plus the driving school fee, plus the examination fees, plus the fee for issuing the license (usually included in the driving school fee).

It makes sense if you need to pull a trailer on a regular basis that brings the combined gross vehicle weight (car plus trailer) over 3500 kgs. 

There is a good loophole you may not be aware of:  If the trailer weight plus payload weight does not weigh more than the car does AND the two together have a gross vehicle weight of less than 3500 kgs, you don't need a trailer license, even if the trailer exceeds 750 kgs.  I had a trailer rated for 1200 kgs, and pulled it with a car with a GVWR of 1300 kgs, two together makes 2500 kgs, no trailer license necessary.