Claiming back VAT on purchase in the UK?

13 posts in this topic

Hi,

I'm a freelancer here in Berlin, and I'm registered for VAT. I want to buy a computer in the UK (there is a good reason for this!) - can I then claim back the VAT? Has anyone got experience of this?

From what I've read and been told, it sounds like I should be able to. But my tax advisor is saying that it wouldn't be accepted unless the product is actually delivered to me in Germany - but that's not possible.  (he's not being very clear though, which is why I'm also asking here!)

fyi the issue is that I want to buy a refurbished mac from apple, and it needs to be from the UK store to have a UK keyboard. 

Anyone know more about the ins and outs of buying business equipment in another EU country and then getting back the VAT?

Thanks!

Rhiannon

10 minutes ago, ramblingr said:

Hi,

I'm a freelancer here in Berlin, and I'm registered for VAT. I want to buy a computer in the UK (there is a good reason for this!) - can I then claim back the VAT? 

Yes, but not the usual way via the Finanzamt. You can claim back the VAT in the UK via the German BZSt ('Bundeszentralamt für Steuern'). Start to read there (it's in Englisch): http://www.bzst.de/EN/Steuern_International/Vorsteuerverguetung/Vorsteuerverguetung_node.html;jsessionid=53D98CB17490AA60FB35BB7B3A58BD6A.live6812 

And then decide if it's worth the effort. ;) 

Thanks for the link, I hadn't seen that. There's also useful stuff here: https://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/business/vat/eu-country-specific-information-vat_en

(for anyone else reading this!)

I'm just confused by my tax advisor's answer about delivery in the UK not being acceptable... if anyone has experience to do with that then I'd be interested to know.

And on a macbook pro it is enough money to justify a fair bit of time making sure I get things right!