As EU citizen can I be a freelancer and have a mini-job?

13 posts in this topic

I want to start working as a freelance English teacher in Berlin. Whilst I'm waiting for work to pick up can I do a mini-job? Would I just add the income to my tax return at the end of the year? I have registered and I'm in the process of applying for a freelance tax number.

Also, I've just filled in an E101 from the UK to have my health insurance covered for one year. Is my health insurance still valid if I do 'employed' work as well as self-employed.

Thanks for your help. I'm new to the German system!

Yes, go ahead.

A mini job does not come with health insurance, so it does not affect the health insurance situation at all.

Nor is it mentioned in a tax return, in fact the employer pays all the income tax for you in a mini job.

Are you self-employed in the UK, catmancan? I think the E101 form is for self-employed moving to Germany to continue as self-employed.

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/national-insurance-application-for-form-e101-if-self-employed-in-european-economic-area-ca3837

:rolleyes:Plus: incidentally, I got off my sick bed to post a thread which may or may not be useful for you ( in case you take up a non-minijob as an employee ):

https://www.toytowngermany.com/forum/topic/374153-freelance-and-employedpublic-health-insurance-implications/#comment-3614358

Disclaimer: I´m an independent insurance broker and an official advertiser on Toytown.

Hi John! Thanks for replying, from your sickbed no less :( hope you're feeling better soon! I read your post. Wowzers, what a minefield! It's cleared a lot of things up.