Question about uni entrance via vocation degree...

8 posts in this topic

Hi all,

First post here so excuse me if this is the wrong place!

I have a question about entrance requirements to a university (undergrad). I've scoured the internet and forums for an answer and can't find one. I've got radio silence from the university so I'm reaching out here.

I am an American. I have a HS diploma - no SAT or ACT. I also have a 2 year foundation (vocational) degree from the UK (in the UK this counts as 3/4 of a BA Hons, I could have attended one more year to have a full BA Hons). On top of that I will have 2 years work experience once I apply.

I am looking at Brandenburg University of Technology for an English taught undergrad program. They do list a vocation degree + work experience as qualified to enter, has anyone ever done this before? I'm having problems looking at uni-assist/DAAD/anabin because my education is mixed American/UK and the only option I find on top of an American HS diploma is an Associates which isn't quite accurate to what I have. 

Also, if anyone knows, does freelance work count as work experience? Part of my work experience is with the government so no problem verifying that, but I am not sure what they will ask for (if anything) to verify my freelance work. Again I have asked the uni but no response in a week so I'm getting jittery to find out.

It's not super urgent as I plan on attending 2018 winter semester but I'd like to know far in advance if I need to do anything else.

Thanks a lot. If you need more info I left out please ask

Thanks!!

36 minutes ago, barkbarkbarkbarkdog said:

I've got radio silence from the university so I'm reaching out here.

I don't think the BTU really has anyone left responsible for evaluating foreign qualifications; they rely on uni-assist.