International student gets caught shoplifting

29 posts in this topic

I'm an international student schooling in Germany..I did a wrong thing and tried shoplifting three stuffs for about 30€ total, I was caught. Will this affect my resident permit extension next month? And will I have a criminal record?

Reported to the police, this is my first ever issue with the police or anything and I am deeply dissapointed in myself..

9 hours ago, Dexterr said:

Will this affect my resident permit extension next month?

Rather not. Was it reported to the police? The whole case will not be ended next month anyway, it will take some time for the police to investigate, get your statement etc. and the for the state lawyer and a court to proceed with it.

9 hours ago, Dexterr said:

And will I have a criminal record?

Not if this was the first offense.

But when you'll be asked in future or have to fill in questionnaires: tell the truth. Authorities can see more than only the criminal record and they'll know that you were caught shoplifting. And when the Beamte ask you next month whether there is something still pending, say 'yes' and tell them what it is.

2 hours ago, someonesdaughter said:

Rather not. Was it reported to the police? The whole case will not be ended next month anyway, it will take some time for the police to investigate, get your statement etc. and the for the state lawyer and a court to proceed with it.

Not if this was the first offense.

But when you'll be asked in future or have to fill in questionnaires: tell the truth. Authorities can see more than only the criminal record and they'll know that you were caught shoplifting. And when the Beamte ask you next month whether there is something still pending, say 'yes' and tell them what it is.