Best practices for applying to companies in Germany

50 posts in this topic

I have had renewed interest in trying to find an internship or a job in Germany, and so I came up with these more specific questions about the German job application process to refine my understanding about the process. For a bit of background about me, I'm a student going to an American university, and studying Finance. I previously studied Mechanical Engineering, but I did not like it. I have gotten EU citizenship, so I would be able to work and live in Germany without any problems. The only issue would be getting my German language skills up to university standards, but since I live in America, I don't have many ways to use/practice or learn a lot of German. I have previously tried applying for jobs in Germany, and have received one phone interview but did not get the job. I put everything into one thread to not spam the forum with a million questions. Below are my questions.

Is it okay if my curriculum vitae and cover letter are just in English, or does a German copy of my CV and cover letter always have to accompany the English version? For me, it would be difficult to translate everything into perfect German, so I hope that it would be fine not having a German copy.

What is the best format for a CV? I used this two paged template (linked below) for my CV. I used a professionally taken picture with a white background for my picture. I translated everything into English, and just filled everything in, until it looked about right.

https://cdn-tolingo.pressidium.com/wp-content/uploads/assets/129/cv_comments.doc

What is the best cover letter format? I simply tried using the template below, and translate/wrote everything in English.

https://docs.google.com/viewer?url=https://cdn-tolingo.pressidium.com/wp-content/uploads/assets/130/cover_letter_comments.doc