NON-EU German University Graduate: How to Start Freelancing?

7 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

All good?

I hope it is, because I need your assistance with this one…

Here is my situation.

I am non-EU graduate (M.A. in Entrepreneurship)

I graduated last year here, in Berlin, and obtained an 18-month residence permit that allows me to look for a job, be self-employed or start a business.

Currently I am looking to start my one-man online marketing agency (though I would use other freelances as well) to work mainly with foreign clients (i.e. they are not located in Germany).

Given this, here are my questions.

#1: What exactly is my procedure for starting this up from the bureaucratic point of view?

From what I understand, I need to go directly to Finanzamt in order to get my Steuernummer (and get registered as a freelancer), but I also came across some resources that suggest I should first ask Bürgeramt for approval.

Please share your knowledge/experience with this.

#2: This one is for the future, because my residence permit expires in a little more than 6 months. How exactly do you extend residence permit, based on the freelance work that you do?

Please share your knowledge/experience here also.

I would appreciate advice that comes directly from your personal experience, because I did have a thorough look through online resources and need to clarify things…thank you for your time and input!

A warm day to you (even though it’s quite chilly in Berlin this morning)

ShineBrightLikeADiamond

8 hours ago, ShineBrightLikeADiamond said:

Currently I am looking to start my one-man online marketing agency (though I would use other freelances as well) to work mainly with foreign clients (i.e. they are not located in Germany).

Only having foreign clients could be a problem down the road; you should also try to find a few local contracts.

#1: What exactly is my procedure for starting this up from the bureaucratic point of view?