Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Anybody with Legal Advice for Me?

12 posts in this topic

Hello all!

This is my first post, I hope I'm not asking something too out of the ordinary!

I am a student from Canada and I recently completed a foreign exchange term in Germany. As per German law, I was required to have valid health insurance in Germany while I was a student. I recently completed my studies in Germany and have returned to Canada. Originally the contract was for the duration of 18 months, however, I left Germany after 16 months and do not require the 2 extra months of service. In the contract, it was explicitly stated that, 

"Membership in (health insurance company) will begin exactly on the date of arrival. In this case, the coverage is expected to commence (date agreed upon) and valid until (date agreed upon), except the student returns earlier to his home country."

My health insurance company says that as long as I am a matriculated student, I must still pay for the health insurance. When I showed them the contract, they said the part where it says "except the student returns earlier to his home country" is a mistake and should not have been there in the first place.

As I am not aware of German laws, and I don't expect many people on this forum to be either, but I was hoping for any helpful advice :)

I really do not want to pay over 200 Euros for health insurance that I won't be using, please help!

I don't know about German law, but in America (I'm a law school grad), the insurance company would be screwed for two reasons:  1) the parol evidence rule and 2) the rule  of interpretation that any ambiguity in a contract is interpreted against the drafting party.