A2 to B1 level, How?!?

24 posts in this topic

Well, my spouse doesn't want me spending money on a language course so I'm currently studying Grammar books on my own, but I feel like at this pace I'll be at B1 level in 3 years...

The hardest part for me is having questions and getting it to click. 

Any helpful tips or suggestions? 

Did anyone else self teach with success?

Just now, LenkaG said:

A good tandem language exchange helps immensely. 

You're awesome, thank you!

That would also probably help me with my sentence structure. 

5 minutes ago, WanderLost said:

That would also probably help me with my sentence structure. 

Absolutely! What it can help you with depends also on how (in)formal you would like it to be. Some people just meet somewhere to chat, others do more. I should really look for a new tandem partner for my Spanish learning as my partner is very busy at the moment and we are taking a break, but I have been apprehensive about that as I would prefer to resume the existing exchange. We used to meet weekly on Skype and each of us worked independently during the week either with a book or with online materials and we used to discuss the problems that have come up there as well.  

Reading would also help with sentence structure if you pick something that you are comfortable with reading.

Just now, LenkaG said:

I should really look for a new tandem partner for my Spanish learning 

If I wouldn't have had to push my Spanish skills off to the side in order to learn German, I'd definitely be down. But I kept finding myself saying things like Lo siento, Ich kann heute nicht. 🙄

Hi, @WanderLost, first, I am going to recommend that you use all the free courses online that you can. Try this one: http://www.dw.com/en/learn-german/s-2469