Moving to Köln in 2018

21 posts in this topic

Hi all, 

Apologies in advance for long winded-ness of this post and if I am going over old topics.

My wife and I are Australians, and we're looking to move to Köln in February/March of 2018 so that she can carry out some unpaid research for a year. Obviously, we have a lot of questions that will be answered in time, however there are some that I think that if answered could better direct our focus on what we need to do before relocating.

What are my chances of getting a job with the skills I have? and should I look at other nearby cities/areas?

I've worked for 8 years in IT support, then worked for 3 as a Civil Draftsman and went back to IT support early this year as the pay and job security were much better. I have a Bachelor of Science in Internet Computing and a Associate Degree in Civil Eng. I have other Vocational certificates but I imagine that they will not be a factor when job hunting. I have my Goethe A1 and will do some intensive language courses before the move. I am also looking at Cisco and Microsoft certs as I can see there is a bit of work around (not so much in Köln, but Dusseldorf and Bonn) for these.

Is there anything that you would recommend that we could be doing now (6+ months out) that would help the transition?

My wife is in the process of getting her Italian passport and I am trying to follow up my Polish ancestry in the hope that if we can get theses a lot of the visa and immigration process will be less bureaucratic.

What documents should we get translated?

Resumes\CVs and Degrees are the obvious ones, but is there something obvious that we may not have thought about.

Finally, where are nice areas to live that aren't to far from the University which are well serviced by public transport?