How is it like running an online business in Germany?

5 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I have a couple of questions regarding running a business in Germany, especially an online business. I am an Albanian citizen (non-EU) and I am registered as a sole trader here in Albania. I work as an online freelancer and I also have some intellectual properties online. 

Lately it's getting quite annoying running such a business here. All my earnings come through PayPal and only a couple of banks allow withdrawing money from PayPal here and even those two banks are quite annoying in that they question you where these money are coming from, what do I do, and how long am I going to continue this business. Explaining all that is a bit hard though because institutions here expect hard papers contracts with seals and signatures and they are very suspicious if you bring printed email receipts. As you can imagine, it's hard to get hard papers from PayPal or the online companies I work for. So, bottom line is it's quite stressful running a business here.

So, I am thinking of moving to Germany by applying for a self-employed residence which I have read does not have a lot of requirements for students with a German degree (I have an Erasmus Mundus master degree from a German university earned four years ago). 

Do you know if Germany would be more business friendly? How are the banks there? Any feedback regarding these questions or other related matters would be highly appreciated.

Regards,
Adi.

It may be easier to run a business here but there are many rules and regulations to meet before you begin. As you are not an EU member you need some expert advice.

BTW, health Insurance is compulsory in Germany. Perhaps you could contact  The German Embassy in Albania.

21 minutes ago, White Rose of Yorkshire said:

It may be easier to run a business here but there are many rules and regulations to meet before you begin. As you are not an EU member you need some expert advice.