Freelancer with projects from abroad

9 posts in this topic

Hello everyone!

I'm a Romanian freelance video editor in Germany and got a project for a Romanian client. I have a few questions and hope to find answers for all of them, here.

1. If my yearly income is less than 8000 Euros, do I have to pay any taxes for the project with the Romanian client?

2. Do I have to write something specific on the bill for the client, other than what I would write in a normal bill?

3. What happens if I'm registered as a freelance video editor and I earn money from a project where I do something else than video editing? 

Thank you so much, this forum helped me greatly already!! 

1. No.

2. The invoice will be without VAT, your client will have to declare it in his Romanian VAT announcement.
    You have to mention your client's VAT ID in your invoice, this is also the proof that the client is a business.
    You will have to file a Zusammenfassende Meldung citing your client's VAT ID and the amount from your invoice, and file a VAT announcement in which you declare the amount in line 41, field 21.
    You also have to include this reverse-charge sentence in your invoice: "Steuerschuldnerschaft des Leietungsempfängers gemäß §13b UStG", if you like, you can also include the Romanian phrase from page 7 of this document: http://www.bundesfinanzministerium.de/Content/DE/Downloads/BMF_Schreiben/Steuerarten/Umsatzsteuer/Umsatzsteuer-Anwendungserlass/2013-10-25-ausstellung-von-rechnungen.pdf?__blob=publicationFile&v=3

3. Nothing, you just have to declare it.

You will need to announce the Finanzamt that you will start being self-employed with a "Fragebogen zur steuerlichen Erfassung", details in here:

If your activity is gewerblich (which it sounds like), i.e. not artistic in your case, you will also need a Gewerbeschein from your city.

You will also need an Elster certificate, you apply for it using your Steuer ID: