claiming fees from UK uni in German tax return

10 posts in this topic

Dear TT,

I studied in a UK university between 2006 and 2010. I took out a student loan during this time (standard one from the Student Loans Company).

In 2012 I moved to Germany, and have been paying back this student loan from 2013-2016. I have been working at the same time, in a field directly related to my degree (work in IT, degree was a BSc in Computer Science).

I went to the Munich Lohnsteuerhilfeverein (tax help) to file tax returns and was told there is a good chance I will get money back due to paying around €2500 each year for my student loan. I was also told that after I pay it all back there is little point in doing tax returns as I will get no money back.

Recently I got a reply from the Finanzamt regarding my tax return applications (forwarded to me from the Tax Help office), saying that since I wasn't paying tax during my studies, I am not eligible for any tax refunds. This makes little sense to me.

I am about to call the Tax Help guys to ask how this is relevant, but as my faith in them has waned since I received this reply I wanted to ask whether you know of any similar precedents or regulations that would impact this.

Thanks in advance!
Steph

There is a thread on this which might be of interest:

Are US and other international student loans deductable here?

Can some clever person tell me how to link Toytown threads properly?

You copy the URL of that thread by clicking on the little "share" icon at the right of a post, mark the URL and simultaneously press CTRL and C (STRG instead of CTRL if you have a German keyboard).

You then paste it into a reply by simultaneously pressing CTRL and V (STRG instead of CTRL if you have a German keyboard).: https://www.toytowngermany.com/forum/topic/156815-income-tax-return-for-mba-tuition-fee/?do=findComment&comment=3303000

But instead of just pasting it into an existing line of text, you paste it into a new line, all on its own: