Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Is a 12 month probation period reasonable?

29 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I recently had an interview where the employer suggested that I have a probation period of 12 months (with lower salary) based on the facts that I only speak basic German, and that I would have to learn the system they are using (engineering stuff). I have 5 years of proffessional experience in the field, but with another yet somewhat similar system. Their argument is that I wouldn't be of too much value to them before I have learned both. My opinion is that I can learn the system in one to three months, and reach a decent level of German in half a year.

I read online that the probation period is normally 6 months in Germany, but at the same time I don't want to seem picky and make too many demands.

What are your experiences, should I negotiate, and what are reasonable demands?

Thanks!

Your employer is on to some bull. Have him pay for a year of German lessons then

If the crux of their argument for low pay and a 12 month probezeit is that you are not "of too much value to them" for the duration, why do they want to hire you at all?

walk away.  really.  

Engineers are in great demand in Germany. This is BS.

In fact, I immediately would know companies for mechanical engineering as well as IT that would happily hire somebody with English and basic German. :)

1 minute ago, Metall said:

Engineers are in great demand in Germany. This is BS.

In Germany, yes. Qliver seems to talk about Berlin, that might be part of the problem. ;)

@Qliver: Berlin is the economic black hole of Germany, you'd be better off somewhere else in Germany, e.g. in Bavaria or Baden-Wuerttemberg.

As a side note: From basic german to a decent (professional) level in only 6 months (while working) seems to be overly optimistic to me. 

1 minute ago, someonesdaughter said:

In Germany, yes. Qliver seems to talk about Berlin, that might be part of the problem. ;)