Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Moving to Neustrelitz in the next few months as a student on a break

8 posts in this topic

Hello! 

I'm an international student in Sweden currently on a year break from my studies and I'm planning on moving to Neustrelitz in the next few months. I'm studying physical geography, in my 2nd year of bachelor and doing video editing in my free time.

Why Neustrelitz? Because that is where my girlfriend lives and I intend to stay in Germany for longer than a few months, as it is a country I've always liked.

I am currently teaching myself German, with her help, but by the time I move there, I reckon I will still be at a basic level.

So I'd like to start on a job as soon as I get there, but my issue is that I don't know how many jobs are open to international students/basic German-speaking people in a smaller town like this. I'd be willing to do any job at first, as long as it doesn't require me to work 12 hours every day and allows me to live well. I have been looking out for jobs and sending a few emails, but to no avail yet.

In addition, what would I need to live there? Is a German bank account absolutely necessary? (I assume it is if I want to find a job there)

I will also rent an apartment in the area, preferably before I get there, but all of them are unfurnished. Are there any good ways to buy furniture in the area, given that the closest IKEA is in Berlin?

Would be also very good if there were any English-speaking meet-ups in the area.

Feel free to ask me anything that could help and looking forward to hearing from you!

Follow up questions: how well is it possible to rent an apartment without being physically present there? So no face-to-face talks or visits. I may be, just may be, able to visit once just to see the place and talk to the agents, but I am not sure of it. Also, do I need a German bank account to make the first rent payment?

32 minutes ago, TudorPM said: