Pros and cons of having a US LLC vs. GmbH for tax purposes

38 posts in this topic

I searched for LLC on this forum, and didn't find something fitting my situation, hence my post.

I'm an American engineer living in Germany and intend to stay here for several years. I'm going to start a tech consulting business, expecting most, if not all, customers to be in the US. 

I'm aware I could do this work as a Freiberufler, but my customers will only qualify me as a vendor if I'm an LLC or Corporation. I also like the liability protection an LLC/GmbH will

provide. I'm aware I need liability insurance regardless Anyway, I'm trying to figure out the best path for me to move forward, taking everything into account. (I will be the

only owner. I have work permission in Germany. I have gesetztliche Krankenversicherung already.)

If I start a GmbH in Germany, my understanding is that it costs several hundred euros, but isn't too difficult, using a service for this purpose. My problem with this option is that I will have to

file taxes as the corporation (separate from my regular income taxes), and keep real accounting records, which sounds like a big pain. I'm aware there is the mini-GmbH (UG) option as

well, but startup capital is not my problem. Not sure how the US would handle the taxes for this situation. I guess they would take whatever income the GmbH pays me as income, just like usual.