Kleinunternehmer and VAT - invoicing in Germany, EU, and non-EU

21 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I am a freelance illustrator and am looking for someone to kindly validate whether my understanding of invoicing clients is correct given my particular situation. Before I start, I want to say a big thank you to everyone here on Toytown - most of the knowledge I've pieced together has come from excellent posts on this site.

Background:
Since my income will be below the 17,500 Euro limit, I have opted as a kleinunternehmer not to charge VAT. As an illustrator I will mainly be working with foreign clients (businesses and also private customers). I have applied for and received my Steuernummer. I have also applied for a USt-ID to facilitate working with international clients. Just for maximum clarity, I am living in and working from Germany, and providing clients with digital files containing my illustrations. My main clients will be publications such as magazines.

---

The following is my understanding of how I should invoice businesses and private customers in Germany and abroad as a Kleinunternehmer.

In addition to the general required information for an invoice, on all invoices I plan to:
  a ) Use my USt-ID instead of my Steuernummer
  b ) Never charge VAT, under any circumstance

I realize that I generally need to provide a reason for not charging VAT. Here is how I plan to do that in various scenarios:

1) If my client is German (both businesses and private customers), German VAT would generally be due (for both B2B and B2C), so on my invoice I will:
  - state "Gemäß § 19 UStG wird keine Umsatzsteuer berechnet"
  - not charge VAT

2) If my client is a business located elsewhere in the EU (ex: in the UK), this is a B2B situation and the supply of services is taxed at the business' place of establishment. Therefore the recipient is responsible for accounting for VAT according to the "reverse charge" procedure. On my invoice I will: